So one thing I really miss is Pie’s! I am yet to experiment with various healthier pie crusts so watch this space.  But for now I have been mastering the fillings.  Here is a trusty favourite chicken and leek!

  1. Add the leeks to a hot pan with a splash of water and gently cook until soft (approx. 6/7mins)
  2. The add the chopped carrot and cook for another 3/4 mins
  3. Pour in the stock and add the chicken breasts in to cook, cover and simmer till cooked (approx. 15mins)
    Take the chicken breasts out and shred with two forks
  4. In the meantime uncover the stock and reduce down to half the volume.
  5. Add the mustard and soft cheese stirring well, then add back in the shredded chicken.

I have use this in a cottage pie before and topped with sweet potatoes or a filo pastry pie crust (for slightly more  indulgent meals).

Chicken and Leek Pie Filling
Chicken and Leek Pie Filling

Serves 2 I  Calories 284  I  Protein 46g  I  Total Fat 5g  I  Carbohydrates 8g (Dietary Fiber 1g, Sugars 4g)

